Pearl River Delta National Forest City Group will be completed in October

2018-09-14 12:48:04 Ta Kung Pao

New breakthroughs have been made in the construction of the National Forest City Group in Guangdong, Hong Kong and Macau Dawan District. Shenzhen and Zhongshan were listed as the first forest cities in China in September and the list is expected to be officially approved in October, according to Guangdong Forestry Department on September 12. Meanwhile, nine cities in Pearl River Delta will all become the National ForestCities and the construction plans of water bird migration corridor and bio-ecological corridor in Dawan District have also been started.

Construction plan of ecological corridor in Dawan District

At present, Guangzhou, Huizhou, Dongguan, Zhuhai, Zhaoqing, Foshan and Jiangmen have successfully established themselves as national forest cities among 9 cities in Pearl River Delta. Shenzhen and Zhongshan are entering the final stage of ‘Chuangsen’.

At present, the forest coverage rate of Shenzhen is 40.04%, and the total number of parks is 942, which makes Shenzhen as one of the cities who has the largest numbers of parks in China.

Shenzhen: 40 ‘Chuangsen’ indicators have reached the standard.

Gao Ruisheng, deputy mayor of Zhongshan, mentioned that there are 55 parks of various types that have been built and 277 villages have basically been covered with cell parks and small rural parks. 40 ‘Chuangsen’ indicators have reached the standard level.

Lu Zaohui, director of Zhongshan Forestry Bureau, revealed that Nanlang Town, Banfu Town, Guzhen Town and Nantou Town have been selected as the first batch of ‘forest towns in Guangdong Province’. At the same time, three ‘national brands’ projects were launched, including Zhongshan National Forest Park in Guangdong, Cuiheng National Wetland Park in Guangdong and Xiangshan Nature Reserve in Guangdong. Among them, the investment in Chui Heng National Wetland Park is nearly 1 billion yuan, which will be open to the public in the first quarter of next year.

Zhongshan: 10 billion National Wetland Park

"In September, the State Forestry and Grassland Administration announced the list of forest cities to be approved for the year, and Shenzhen and Zhongshan were all successfully selected." Guangdong Forestry Department official disclosed that it is expected to be formally approved inn October this year. By then, all nine cities in the Pearl River Delta will become national forest cities, and the Pearl River Delta will be the first National Forest City Group in China.

Build ‘Forest City Group in Dawan District’

At the same time, nine cities, Meizhou, Shantou, Chaozhou, Jieyang, Maoming, Yangjiang, Yunfu, Shaoguan and Qingyuan, in eastern and Western Guangdong, have joined the ranks of creating national forest cities.

According to the Guangdong Forestry Department, Guangdong Province is currently working out a forest city construction plan for the whole province. The Pearl River Delta National Forest City Group will be the green center, and the northern, eastern and western forest cities will together form an ecological barrier in order to build the ‘Guangdong, Hong Kong and Macao Dawan District Forest City Group’ and to build a forest ecological barrier with Lingnan characteristics.



Are you a member?Have you logged in?